2023 Global Consumer Trends

  • Beauty and Personal Care
  • Food and Drink
  • Retail
December 6th, 2022
10:00 AM - 10:45 AM, CT time
Online event

Join us for Mintel’s 2023 Global Consumer Trends webinar, combining global market and data analysis with our Trend Drivers to provide a high-level overview of the key motivations and challenges that lie ahead for consumers. Associate Director of Trends, North America Diana Kelter and Director of Trends, Americas Dana Macke will provide implications for the short, medium and long term. We highlight the most important issues that brands need to think about when it comes to engaging with consumers in an ever-changing world.

Preview the Agenda

Me Mentality:
For the last two years, consumers have had a community mindset, putting their own needs on the back burner to prioritize public health and safety. People are now emerging from the pandemic eager to re-focus on themselves, and brands can help them take center stage in the years to come.

Hyper Fatigue:
Moving from crisis to crisis, consumers are being stretched in many directions while being bombarded with media stories and digital content. The pandemic, rising cost of living, energy crisis, geopolitical unrest and the climate crisis have all taken their toll on consumers and will continue to do so, causing fatigue and a sense of being overwhelmed.

Power to the People:
Brands have to make room for a new ‘c’ in their c-suite: consumers. Consumers are shaping brands with their dollars and their voices. This idea goes beyond brands conceding that ‘the customer is always right’ and is evolving into a model where consumers are investing, co-creating and voting for change alongside brands. Responding to this demand requires brands to listen from the backseat while keeping one foot on the gas to create market innovation.

International Localism:
With so much global uncertainty surrounding the economy, there will be a greater movement to protect local resources and boost local business. A consequence from the pandemic, but also a reflection of consumers’ changing attitudes towards what’s important to them—a reconnection with ‘local’ is also a way for consumers to protect themselves financially, environmentally and psychologically, and feel that they are giving back in some way.

Intentional Spending:
Consumers are re-focusing on what value means to them and spending more intentionally as a result. In a tough economic environment, consumers want to make smart financial choices without sacrificing their quality of life. This goes beyond making budget-friendly choices to considering how factors like flexibility, durability, and sustainability will play increasingly important roles in the value equation.

Looking for Food and Drink or Beauty and Personal care trends for 2023? Register for each here:

2023 Food and Drink Trends: North America Spotlight
Dec. 6, 2022; 11:30 am CT | 12:30 pm ET | 10:30 am MT | 9:30 am PT

2023 Beauty and Personal Care Trends: North America Spotlight
Dec. 6, 2022; 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET | Noon MT | 11 am PT

Related Mintel events

EMEA Food and Drink
Household care trends
On-demand Online

Webinar: Unveiling Consumer Tastes: A Deep Dive into Food and Drink Trends in Southern Europe

Embark on a journey into the dynamic landscape of the food and drink industry in Southern Europe for 2024 and…

EMEA Household
[Webinar] Unlocking Insights: 2024 Household Care Trends — EMEA
On-demand Online

[Webinar] Unlocking Insights: 2024 Household Care Trends — EMEA

Embark on a journey through the latest evolutions in Household Care trends for 2024, where we unravel the shifting dynamics,…

Americas Household
Webinar: Unlocking Insights: 2024 Household Care Trends – AMERS
On-demand Online

Webinar: Unlocking Insights: 2024 Household Care Trends – AMERS

Click the register button above to receive a copy of the recording! Embark on a journey through the latest evolutions…

Beauty and Personal Care EMEA
Mintel at 8th Beauty Innovation Days
On-demand Online

Mintel at 8th Beauty Innovation Days

If you weren’t able to attend the live sessions, you now have the exclusive opportunity to request access to the…

EMEA Food and Drink
Mintel at Bakery Live: Three Areas of Opportunity for Bread and Sweet Bakery
February 21st, 2024 Online

Mintel at Bakery Live: Three Areas of Opportunity for Bread and Sweet Bakery

We are delighted to announce that Mintel will be partnering with Bakery Live for its upcoming virtual…

EMEA Packaging Retail
Webinar: EMEA Packaging 2024 – The Future Unwrapped
February 27th, 2024 Online

Webinar: EMEA Packaging 2024 – The Future Unwrapped

Discover the future of packaging excellence with Mintel's experts Benjamin Planchard and David Luttenberger. Join this live webinar for an insightful discovery on the latest trends shaping the packaging landscape in the EMEA region.

Americas Packaging Retail
Webinar: Unwrap the Future: Packaging Trends 2024 – AMERS
February 27th, 2024 Online

Webinar: Unwrap the Future: Packaging Trends 2024 – AMERS

Discover the future of packaging excellence with Mintel's experts Benjamin Planchard and David Luttenberger. Join this live webinar for an insightful discovery on the latest trends shaping the packaging landscape in the EMEA region.

EMEA Food and Drink
Informa Fi Webinar Series: Gut Health In Food 
March 5th, 2024 Online

Informa Fi Webinar Series: Gut Health In Food 

Unlock the Secrets to Optimal Gut Health with Rick Miller, Mintel's Associate Director of Specialised Nutrition. Experts are still understanding the importance of the gut microbiome on our overall health and has become more and more of a trend. We are seeing an increasing number of diets, home tests and personalised nutrition programmes designed to maximise our gut health.  In parallel, many brands are adding functional ingredients like pre-and probiotics and fibre to products...